Still a blustery old day for June’s birthday and it was back to the grind for her as we had to do some food shopping first. We then went off to explore the old town of Newark on Trent
Newark is a market town and stands on the River Trent, the A1 (on the route of the ancient Great North Road), and the East Coast Main Line railway. The origins of the town are possibly Roman as it lies on an important Roman road, the Fosse Way. The town grew around Newark Castle, now ruined, and a large marketplace, now lined with historic buildings, and was a centre for the wool and cloth trade. In the English Civil War, it was besieged by Parliamentary forces and had to be relieved by Prince Rupert in a battle known as the Relief of Newark.
In the reign of Edward the Confessor Newark belonged to Godiva,she of Coventry fame, and her husband Leofric, Earl of Mercia, who granted it to the monastery of Stow in 1055, who retained its incomes even after the Norman Conquest when it came under the control of the Norman Bishop Remigius de Fécamp. After his death it changed to, and remained in the hands of, the Bishops of Lincoln from 1092 until the reign of Edward VI.
Below are pictures of the Town Lock, the old riverside buildings now converted to flats, and the all important bridge with the Newark Floating Barge Pub.
The Market Place is one of the largest cobbled squares in the country and provides a backdrop to many interesting architectural gems. The Georgian Town Hall built, in 1776, has a magnificent portico and four columns which lead through to the Butter Market with its varied mix of shops and a cafe.
Also in the Market Place is Ye Old White Hart, a timber-framed former coaching inn built in the 15th century. Two former coaching inns, the Clinton Arms and the Saracens Head have interesting colonnades at street level.
Newark Castle was originally a Saxon fortified manor house, founded by King Edward the Elder. In 1073, Robert Bloet, bishop of Lincoln founded an earthwork motte and bailey fortress on the site. From 1123–33, Bishop Alexander the Magnificent completely rebuilt the castle, when founding a prominent stone structure of ornate construction.
The Church of St Mary Magdalene is believed to be the largest Parish Church in Nottinghamshire. It is situated just off the cobbled market place and boasts a spire over 240 feet in height. There are 192 steps if you want to go up the tower.
The Zizzi Restaurant by the bridge was originally Ossington Coffee Palace a perfect copy of a 17th century hostelry erected in 1882 as a Temperance Hotel by Viscountess Ossington
All around the market place are little alleyways with interesting old buildings. Because there are so many it is easy to get disorientated and lose your way but just look for the Church Spire.
The torc is made from electrum, an alloy of gold, silver and copper, weighs 700 grams (1.5 lbs) and is 20 cm in diameter.The body is formed from rolled gold alloy wires, which had then been plaited into eight thin ropes then twisted together. The terminals are ring-shaped and bear floral and point-work designs